Race relations in America

So to commemorate my new blog, I decided to repost a rant I had on facebook a while back. I don’t have the time currently to write a blog, even if I do make one whist I was supposed to be revising for my 11 exams 🙈.
I promise I will get round to posting actual blogs but for now my first post will be a repost of a rant *sorry*. But it’s relevant as ever in the wake of the #BaltimoreRiots; enjoy…

The whole justice system in America needs reform. The same young officers that were holding the water cannons and unleashing the dogs during the Civil rights movement are now heads of police departments. The same officers involved in Selma, Alabama boycotts etc are now police chiefs, sheriffs, heads of crime units.
The same young members of the kkk during segregation are now senior officers in the police and judiciary. If they did this in their youth, what makes us think that they’ll take the killing of unarmed black men seriously?
The end of segregation should not have been the end of the Civil rights movement. It should have been the platform to launch into phase two. The end of Jim crow laws and black laws and segregation did not mean the end of racism. These people just stuffed their hate, prejudice, racism, kkk membership into sacks. These sacks have now frayed over the resulting decades.
Obama having the audacity as a POC to become  president loosened the neck of the sack significantly, after all he should have stayed in his lane according to Fox news and the GOP. and now all the hate is pouring out from the moth holes and gaping frayed edges of that sack.

It’s there for all to see, the Republicans and tea party don’t hide their racism, the police don’t hide their face when they kill, the judges don’t flick when they hand down disproportionate sentences for POC compared to Caucasians.
That country is rotten to the core and the stench cannot be hidden with the perfume of “post racial world/I don’t see colour” utopia some like to perpetuate.